CCS Forschung

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Translationale Krebsforschung am CCS:

Wechselwirkungen zwischen Tumor, Mikroumgebung und Immunsystem

Krebs ist eine hochkomplexe Erkrankung, die durch genetische und epigenetische Veränderungen in einer normalen gesunden Zelle verursacht wird. Das Verständnis des hohen Komplexitätsgrades auf molekularer Ebene ist der Schlüssel zu gezielten und erfolgreichen Therapien und potenziell kurativen Behandlungen. Dies erfordert gemeinsame Anstrengungen von Klinikern und molekularen Tumorbiologen, um die Ursachen des bösartigen Zellwachstums zu identifizieren und das Grundlagenwissen rasch in die klinische Anwendung umzusetzen.
Der wissenschaftliche Schwerpunkt des CCS liegt auf dem Verständnis der komplizierten zellulären Kommunikationsprozesse zwischen malignen Zellen, ihrer Mikroumgebung und dem Immunsystem während des Krebswachstums, der Metastasierung und der Entwicklung von Arzneimittelresistenzen.
Die Aufklärung der molekularen Details der Tumor-Mikro-Umwelt-Interaktionen, insbesondere die Kartierung onkogener Treibersignale innerhalb des komplexen Tumor-Mikromilieus, wird neue Möglichkeiten für innovative und verbesserte therapeutische Konzepte zur Bewältigung der unmittelbar bevorstehenden therapeutischen Herausforderungen wie Rückfall, Metastasierung und Arzneimittelresistenz bieten, um das Überleben der Patienten zu verlängern.

 

Für Details siehe CCS Publikationen 2020-2015

© 2020 Cancer Cluster Salzburg

  • Facebook

supported by

CCS Research

Research Focus and Areas

Translational Cancer Research at CCS:

Tumor-Microenvironment and Immune System Interactions

Cancer is a highly complex disease caused by genetic and epigenetic alterations in a normal healthy cell. Understanding the high degree of complexity on a molecular level is key to targeted and successful therapies and potentially curative treatments. This requires joint efforts of clinicians and molecular cancer biologists to identify the causes of malignant cell growth and to swiftly translate basic knowledge into clinical application. 

 

The major scientific focus of CCS is on the understanding of intricate cellular communication processes between malignant cells, their microenvironment and the immune system during cancer growth, metastasis and the development of drug resistance.

Unraveling the molecular details of tumor-microenvironment interactions, in particular the mapping of oncogenic driver signals within the complex tumor micromilieu will provide new opportunites for  innovative and improved therapeutic concepts tackling the most imminent therapeutic challenges such as relapse, metastasis and drug resistance to prolong patients´ survival. 

 

CCS has been founded as an interdisciplinary consortium of 16  expert groups of the Salzburg Cancer Research Institute (SCRI), the Paris-Lodron University of Salzburg (PLUS) and the Paracelsus Medical University Clinics Salzburg (SALK/PMU). CCS provides an innovative research network of oncologists, molecular tumor biologists, immunologists and pathologists focusing on the development of novel and superior multi-modal treatments to increase survival and improve the quality of life.

For details see CCS publications 2020-2015

© 2020 Cancer Cluster Salzburg

  • Facebook

supported by